About Us

Briarwood’s student ministries exist to equip students to worship God, to reach their schools, to reach Birmingham, to reach the world for Christ—all for God’s glory. 

Raiders is our Jr. High ministry for 7th and 8th graders. Visit the Raiders’ page for more information and events for our Jr. High students.

Briarwood Youth Group (BYG) is our Sr. High ministry for 9th-12th graders. Visit the BYG page for more information and events for our Sr. High students.

Contact our Staff or call 205.776.5269 for more information or questions!

Jay Shaw, Youth Pastor: jshaw@briarwood.org

Emily Brown, Jr. High Ministry Staff: ebrown@briarwood.org

Amy Barrett Downs, Sr. High Ministry Staff: adowns@briarwood.org

JC Ogden, Jr. High Ministry Director: jogden@briarwood.org

Ben Stallings, Sr. High Ministry Staff: jbstallings@briarwood.org

Elle Walker, Jr. High Ministry Staff: ewalker@briarwood.org

Rushing Watson, Sr. High Ministry Staff: rwatson@briarwood.org

Hudson White, Ministry Development Coordinator: hwhite@briarwood.org

Charity Youngblood, Administrative Assistant: cyoungblood@briarwood.org

       


Wednesday nights @ the Barn: 
Wednesdays @ the Barn are designed to give students an opportunity to be renewed and refreshed during the middle of their school week through a time of community, worship and teaching of God’s Word. We encourage the students to invite their non-Christian friends to these meetings.

D-Groups: 6:00 – 7:30 p.m. @ The Barn
During the school year we have small group Bible studies (discipleship groups) that meet on Sunday nights at The Barn. Each group consists of 8-12 students and a volunteer leader who teaches and spends time with each student outside of the group. We believe that being in a small group is a vital part of a student’s growth, allowing them to dig into God’s Word with their peers and to pray for one another. It is our desire for every single student to be in a small group. We believe that these are a crucial part of each student’s growth in the Lord!

Sunday School: 9:30 – 10:30 a.m. 
Depending on the semester, students are broken up either by grade, gender, or elective during the 9:30am-10:30 a.m. Sunday school hour. Classes are taught by staff, volunteer leaders, and parents.

Raiders in room E313

BYG in room M200

Special Events: Various Times
We have many special events throughout the school year and summer. These events are designed to build community within our youth group and to provide evangelistic opportunities for our students.

Visit our flikr account and see our ministry pictures.